top of page

Song of the week : That's All- Genesis

Genesis is an English rock band considered a pioneer of progressive rock. Created in 1967, the group was firstly composed of Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Anthony Phillips and Mike Rutherford. Then in 1970, the drummer Phil Collins join them but the guitarist Anthony Phillips left the group. Genesis was looking for a new guitarist and they finally chose Steve Hackett. The band begins to become successful in the 70’s with the albums Nursery Cryme in 1971 and with Foxtrot in 1972.

Peter Gabriel left Genesis in 1975, they will remain a quartet until Steve Hackett’s departure in 1977.

Now a trio, Genesis reaches the mondial recognition. They released the eponymous album Genesis in 1983 in which we can find one of their most famous hit, That’s all.


This song talks about a failing relationship in which the singer finds himself arguing about the smallest things with his girlfriend. « I could say day, and you'd say night

Tell me it's black, when I know that it's white ».

Despite their multiple disagreements the singer remains in love with the girl and can’t take the decision to leave. « I could leave but I won't go », « Truth is I love you, more than I wanted to ». Thus, the power of love wins over the hardships the couple has to through. However the singer seems to be emotionally more attached to the girl and she seems to hold a power over him. « Turning me on, turning me off, making me feel like I want too much ». The guy is way too in love to leave her and is totally committed to his relationship so much so that he is ready to ignore the bad sides of it.

What makes this song so popular is that everyone can relate about its topic. Indeed we all had this kind of passionate relationship the singer is talking about. It’s all the complexity and the beauty of love. That's all for today !


If you loved this song, we recommend you the group Supertramp which plays the same genre of music.




11 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page